The Interstate Medical Licensure Compact (IMLC), created in 2017, is a collective agreement among states. Its purpose is to simplify and enhance the licensing process for eligible physicians seeking to practice in multiple states with a single application.

Here are the Answers to Five Frequently Asked Questions about the IMLC:

1.) What are the physician requirements to participate in the IMLC?

To qualify, physicians must possess a valid, unrestricted medical license in an IMLC-recognized state, known as the State of Principal License (SPL). In addition, at least ONE of the following must apply:

  1. Your SLP is in your primary residence.
  2. At least 25% of your time practicing medicine occurs in your SPL.
  3. Your medical employer (person, business, or organization) is located in the SPL.
  4. When filing U.S. Federal Income Tax, you use your SPL as your state of residence.

Physicians must maintain their SPL status throughout the process to stay active within the Compact. Once a physician receives a Letter of Qualification to participate in the Compact, they may change their SPL. Additionally, you must have graduated from an accredited medical school, have no criminal history, and more. Visit the IMLC website to learn more about additional application requirements.

2.) How does the IMLC process work?

Once a physician's SPL has confirmed they meet the qualifications and the requirements necessary to join the IMLC, the SPL will issue the physician a Letter of Qualification letting them know they may participate in the Compact. From there, physicians may select the states within the Compact in which they would like to be licensed. Afterward, the state, upon receiving the Letter of Qualification, will then issue a license.

3.) Can physicians apply for more than one state license at a time?

Yes, physicians who are a part of the IMLC are able to apply for multiple state medical licenses simultaneously.

4.) How does the IMLC benefit locum tenens?

The traditional state licensing process can take anywhere from 6 weeks to 6 months. In contrast, the IMLC reduces this timeframe to a matter of days or weeks.

With the IMLC's expedited licensing process, locum tenens physicians can easily secure licenses in various states at unparalleled speed. The IMLC not only streamlines the licensing journey but also opens avenues for locum tenens physicians to travel across the United States and provide care across diverse landscapes.

5.) How many states participate in the IMLC?

Currently, the Compact is made up of 39 states, the District of Columbia, and the Territory of Guam. Several other states are in the process of joining the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact as the demand for faster licensing processes grows, fueled by physician shortages and increasing opportunities for locum tenens. For more information on IMLC states, click here.

IMLC Map & Key